什麽是性別篩查?常見問題
今天联系我们: +1(818) 344-8522

常見問題

有问号图形的婴儿老师

什麽是性別選擇?

什麽是性別選擇? 您可以選擇您寶寶的性別嗎?

性別選擇是您提前決定寶寶出生時的性別。目前此項也適用於您在生育治療時對男或女的胚胎的偏好,更傾向於哪種性別。 過去時代,通常沒有生男孩子的女性會受到譴責。事實上,生男生女是男性精子來決定後代的性別。精子携帶 X (女性) 或 Y(男性)染色體。然而卵子只携帶X染色體。 今日的現代高超的生殖技術,在治療中選擇未來出生寶寶的性別已可以實現。

寶寶的性別是哪個階段形成的?

寶寶的性別是卵子在受精時決定的,受精時是和精子的X或Y染色體結合。性別染色體是第46條染色體組成胚胎的基因鎖碼。因此寶寶的性別是在受精時決定的,並不隨著孕期改變。 通常,在超聲10-12周左右可以看到寶寶性別。DNA血檢可以在早到6~9周時測試。甚至更早,囊胚第五天可以測出。

在哪些國家性別選擇合法化?

大多數歐洲國家性別選擇都不合法。這些國家即使醫院診所知道性別也不能透露給患者。 另外,植入前胚胎基因測試(可以看到寶寶性別)可能在這些國家也不能做,因爲從胚胎活檢取出組織在這些國家是非法的。 美國沒有性別選擇的制約。患者有權知道寶寶的性別是男是女。

什麽是精子分離或精子分類?

多種性別篩查技術應用到精子。比如,Ericsson方式,依靠觀察到的精子携帶男性染色體的一般游動速度更快、更輕,所以通過離心旋轉可以將其分離出來。然而,此方法沒有通過嚴格的科學審核。 精子分類是一種更好的技術。它是通過携帶男性或女性染色體精子其DNA的數量來分別。携帶X染色體的精子中DNA比携帶Y染色體的精子中DNA要多大約2.8%含量。通過用特殊的染色劑,携帶更多DNA的染色體會顯示光更閃亮,因此幫助分類。這種方法已證實有效。

性別篩查的自然方法有效嗎?

因爲胚胎的性別是由精子決定,與有些人傳統錯誤的認識不同;跟女性沒什麽關係,女性不管什麽飲食、或任何特殊東方養生法則都不能改變或決定性別。 歷史上影響寶寶性別有很多信仰。比如,亞里士多德認爲繁殖期的風向會決定出生時性別(其實不然)。另一個説法是熱天更可以產生男孩,也不過是個神話,不是真的。

在試管治療中您可以選性別嗎?

IVF, 試管受精,是在實驗室卵子和精子人工授精的輔助生殖技術。之後,胚胎被植入到子宮裏。 胚胎檢測可以知道其性別。因此,對性別有要求的父母可以選擇某種性別植入到子宮裏,是試管治療的一部分。當然,此前提是有正常胚胎可供移植。

胚胎選擇如何進行?

有兩個步驟確保成功胚胎篩選。 第一種是精子分類,此技術是將精子根據性別來分類。生命樹診所應用精子分類技術幫助您增加卵子對您所選性別的精子的受精率。 第二種,性別篩查也依賴於胚胎測試(也叫植入前胚胎基因診斷),之後患者選擇其偏好的性別植入子宮。

性別篩查的成功率有多高?

成功的性別篩查同時要求精子分類和移植前胚胎基因測試。通過精子分類您可以最大化選擇您偏好的性別。有效性來講,精子分類可以有大概78%的男性精子準確率,90%女性精子準確率。 植入前胚胎基因檢查可以確定在放入子宮前是您想要的正確的性別。此測試的前提是您有正常的胚胎,此測試準確率高達99%

性別篩查的風險是什麽?

對於胚胎的風險是微乎其微的。任何實驗室技術都有一定小風險。比如,在給精子染色分類時。然而,由於美國有植入前胚胎基因測試,故可以在移植前發現任何缺陷。 與性別篩查相關的生理缺陷目前還有任何報導。事實上,通過IVF自然懷孕出生的寶寶生理缺陷比做過基因檢測的要高。

父母應該有能力來選擇他們寶寶的性別嗎?

如果准父母選擇IVF來受孕,他們在植入前胚胎基因測試會知道寶寶的性別。此測試會顯示胚胎所有的染色體是否正常,確定沒有染色體多餘或缺失,也知道胚胎的性別和是否正常。 因爲胚胎的性別篩查確實是IVF治療的一個環節,測試后父母就知道了性別,所以有人爭議是否胚胎性別的選擇權應該授予做試管的患者。另外,父母有可能未避免罹患選擇某種性別(比如血友病)基因只在一個性別中存在。除了性別外,也有其他因素使父母選擇某種性別。 一種相斥的理論認爲胚胎篩查是優生學的一種形式。這也是爲什麽有些國家有些醫生禁止父母知道胚胎的性別。

醫療保險付性別篩查嗎?

大多數保險公司都不付性別篩查、精子分類。也許有些保險會付胚胎的基因測試看寶寶是否健康。

精子分類價格多少?

在美國精子分類還未通過美國FDA認證。所以患者要在美國先將精子冷凍再運送到我們在墨西哥的實驗室進行,所以價格有所上升。目前,總體價格大概是$5,000 (包括冷凍處理和運輸費)。

做精子分類是否可以取代IVF?

這是個誤區,IVF不能被取代。 這是因爲精子分類的精子並不是自然或宮内受孕的理想對象。精子冷凍過程大大降低了精子自然受孕的機率。所以分類后的精子必須只能做IVF(試管受精)。 精子分類技術在植入前胚胎基因測試前發明,和宮内受孕相結合使用,但是結果不一。也許未來此技術能發展更可靠,這樣精子不需冷凍處理或運輸。

單精注射影響性別嗎?

ICSI, 胞漿内精子注射,是將精子注射入卵母細胞中心,目的受精做成胚胎。 因爲精子決定胚胎的性別,故ICSI絕不會影響寶寶的性別。光學下看不出精子携帶的是X還是Y染色體。

單精注射寶寶正常嗎?

是的,懷孕寶寶通過試管受精通過單精注射做出的胚胎是正常的。先天異常極其罕見。

PGD/PGT/PGS價格多少?

有多種胚胎植入前基因測試。價格根據測試種類不同而異。通常起始價$3,900 所有測試都是對胚胎進行活檢來看胚胎有否基因突變。 PGS, 植入前胚胎基因篩查,檢查所有46條染色體(包括倆條性染色體)。PGD測試是用以在胚胎中檢測出其父母(患者)的某種單基因檢查。 請記住染色體是寶寶所有基因鎖碼的承載躰,是由大量信息的!可以把他們想象是書籍。所以,有時有需要打開書本的特殊特定測試來發現更多。 PGT, 植入前胚胎基因測試,是一個新的PGS/PGD學術名詞。 以一個尾詞綴區分。比如,PGT-A檢查染色體個數。也檢查性染色體(XX,或者XY). PGT-M 檢查基因突變。
leaf與我們取得聯係leaf

San Fernando Valley:

18370 Burbank Blvd. Suite 511Tarzana, CA 91356, USA电话: +1 (818) 344-8522

Miracle Mile:

5455 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1904Los Angeles, CA 90036, USA电话: +1 (323) 525-3377

Canyon Country:

26615 Bouquet Canyon Rd Suite #1Santa Clarita, CA 91350, USA电话: +1 (818) 344-8522

聯係我們

Koristimo kolačiće da bi Vam pružili najbolje moguće iskustvo na našoj web stranici i stvorili ciljano oglašavanje.

Prihvatite samo potrebne kolačiće. Pročitajte više o našoj upotrebi kolačića.

What is gender selection? Frequently Asked Questions
Call us today: +1(818) 344-8522

Frequently Asked Questions

Baby teacher with question mark graphic

WHAT IS GENDER SELECTION?

WHAT IS GENDER SELECTION? CAN YOU PICK THE GENDER OF A BABY?

Gender selection is any attempt to pre-determine what sex a baby will be at birth. Today the term is also used to describe a fertility treatment process which increases the likelihood that a baby will be a born with the desired sex, either male or female. Historically, women often were blamed if a pregnancy didn't result in a male. The truth is that genetically it is the father’s sperm that determines the sex of a child. The sperm carries either an X (female) or Y (male) chromosome, whereas the egg only carries an X chromosome. With today’s advanced fertility techniques, it is possible to choose a gender during treatment so that the sex of the baby at birth is the sex you wanted.

WHAT WEEK IS THE BABY'S GENDER FORMED?

The baby’s sex is determined at conception when the sperm fertilizes the egg with either a X (female) or Y (male) chromosome. The sex is one of the 46 chromosomes that makes up the genetic code of an embryo. The baby’s sex is fixed at conception and doesn’t change as the pregnancy progresses. Visually, you can see the baby’s sex using ultrasound as early as 10 – 12 weeks. DNA testing can detect it earlier, at 6 – 9 weeks. And even earlier on day 5 of embryo testing.

IN WHAT COUNTRIES IS GENDER SELECTION LEGAL?

In most European countries gender selection is not legal. In these countries the sex of the baby cannot be revealed to parents even if it is known. Additionally, preimplantation genetic testing (which would allow us to know the sex of the baby) may not be allowed, as it is illegal to remove cells from the embryo. The United States has no restrictions on knowing or choosing the sex of a baby.

WHAT IS SPERM SEPARATION OR SPERM MICROSORTING?

Multiple gender selection techniques have been tried with spermatozoa. For example, one approach, known as the Ericsson Method, relied on the observation that male sperm are lighter and swim faster, and so they should be able to be separated by weight using spinning. However, this approach has not held up to scientific rigor. Sperm microsorting is a much better technique. It differentiates between male and female sperm based on the amount of DNA that is in the sperm. Sperm carrying a X chromosome has approximately 2.8% more DNA than a sperm carrying a Y chromosome. By using a special dye, the sperm with more DNA material will shine more brightly, and this facilitates microsorting which separates the sperm by sex. It is a proven way to enrich a sperm sample for a gender preference.

DO NATURAL METHODS OF GENDER SELECTION WORK?

Because the sex of the embryo is determined by the sperm, contrary to what some believe; there is nothing a woman can do, whether that is adopting a particular diet or following a Chinese birth chart, to influence the gender. Throughout history there have been many beliefs on how to influence a baby’s gender. For example, Aristotle believed the wind direction during copulation determined the sex at conception (it doesn’t). Another myth, that hot weather favors boy babies, is just a myth.

CAN YOU PICK THE BABY’S GENDER IN IVF?

IVF, in vitro fertilization, is a form of assisted reproduction where the sperm and egg are combined in a lab into an embryo which is then implanted into the uterus. With embryo testing we can know the sex (gender). Accordingly, picking the gender pertains to choosing the embryo that is put back into the uterus as part of the IVF process. Of course, this assumes that there is a viable embryo with the gender you desire available for implantation.

HOW DOES GENDER SELECTION WORK?

There are two steps that are both needed for successful gender selection. The first step is sperm microsorting, which is a technique that selects or sorts the spermatozoa based on the sex of the sperm. Tree of Life uses the Microsort Gender Selection Technology to help enhance your chances that the egg is fertilized with the right chromosome for the gender you desire. Secondly, gender selection is also dependent on embryo testing (also known as preimplantation genetic diagnosis), so that the embryo with the desired sex is picked for implantation into the uterus.

WHAT IS THE SUCCESS RATE OF GENDER SELECTION?

Successful gender selection requires both sperm microsorting and preimplantation genetic testing. With microsorting you are enriching the spermatozoa prior to conception so that most sperm in the sample is the gender you desire. As far as effectiveness, microsorting can produce on average, a purity of 78% male sperm, and 90% female. The preimplantation genetic embryo testing confirms that the embryo is the right gender before placing it back into the uterus. With this testing and assuming that you have an embryo that is the right sex available for implantation, the success rate of gender selection is very high, 99%.

WHAT ARE THE RISKS OF GENDER SELECTION?

These methods pose minimal risk to the embryo. With any laboratory procedures there can technically be some small risks. For example, there may be a small risk due to adding florescent dye to the sperm sample as part of the microsorting procedure. However, with the important method of preimplantation genetic testing of the embryo, any defects will be found prior to preimplantation. There has been no proven risk of birth defects with any of the procedures involved with gender selection. In fact, due to the genetic embryo testing, the possibility of a birth defect is lower with IVF than with natural conception.

SHOULD PARENTS BE ABLE TO SELECT THE GENDER OF THEIR BABY?

If prospective parents have chosen IVF to help them have a baby, they will know the gender of the embryos as a result of the genetic preimplantation embryo testing. This testing reviews all the chromosomes in the embryo, making sure there are not missing ones and as well as checks the sex chromosomes of the embryo are normal. Since knowledge of the sex of the embryo is readily available to parents as a byproduct of the IVF process, an argument can be made that having the choice of gender selection is a reproductive liberty the parents undergoing IVF should have. Additionally, parents may want to choose a sex to avoid genetic defects (such as Hemophilia) present in only one sex. There may be other information, not just the sex, about the embryo that may factor in the decision of picking an embryo for implantation. A contrary argument is that gender selection is a form of eugenics. This is one reason why, in some countries, doctors are prohibited from sharing the gender of the embryo with the parents.

WILL INSURANCE PAY FOR GENDER SELECTION?

Most insurance companies will not cover the sperm microsorting costs of gender selection. However genetic screening of the embryo may be covered to ensure that the baby will be normal and healthy.

WHAT IS THE COST OF MICROSORTING?

The Microsort technique is a non FDA approved procedure in the US. So the sperm must be frozen in our fertility clinic and sent to our laboratory in Mexico which increases the cost. Currently the full cost (including the freezing and shipping) is $5,000.

DO YOU HAVE TO USE IVF WITH MICROSORTED SPERM?

It’s a misconception that IVF can be avoided. This is because microsorted sperm is not a good candidate for sperm insemination. The process of freezing the sperm greatly reduces the chances of natural conception. The sorted sperm should only be used with IVF (in vitro fertilization). Sperm sorting was invented before genetic embryo testing and in the past, it was paired with insemination, but the results were variable. Maybe in the future it could be developed into a more reliable technique if the sperm did not have to be frozen for shipment.

DOES ICSI AFFECT GENDER

ICSI, intracytoplasmic sperm injection, is used to interject the sperm into the center of the egg, with the goal of achieving an embryo. Since it is the sperm that determines the embryo’s sex, ICSI doesn’t affect the baby’s gender in any way. It’s not possible to optically see which X or Y chromosome each sperm carries.

ARE ICSI BABIES NORMAL?

Yes, babies conceived using ICSI during IVF are normal. Defects are very rare.

WHAT’S THE COST OF PGD / PGT / PGS EMBRYO TESTING?

There are several different kinds of preimplantation genetic embryo testing. Costs vary depending on the type of test, but the cost starts at around $3,900. All tests use a biopsy of the embryo to check for either the number of chromosomes or a gene mutation. The PGS, preimplantation genetic screening, checks that all 46 chromosomes are there (including the two sex chromosomes). The PGD test is used to look for a potential known single gene defect that is present in the families of the parents. Remember that the chromosomes are the containers of all the genetic code for a baby, which is a lot of information! A useful way to think of chromosomes is to think of them as books. So, in some cases a more specific test that opens the book and looks for a specific gene may be warranted. PGT, preimplantation genetic testing, is a new term for both the PGS and PGD tests. The type of type is denoted with a suffix. For example, PGT-A checks the number of chromosomes. It also detects which sex chromosomes the embryo has (X and X, or X and Y). PGT-M checks for a gene mutation.
leafConnect with usleaf

San Fernando Valley:

18370 Burbank Blvd. Suite 511Tarzana, CA 91356, USAPhone: +1 (818) 344-8522

Miracle Mile:

5455 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1904Los Angeles, CA 90036, USAPhone: +1 (323) 525-3377

Canyon Country:

26615 Bouquet Canyon Rd Suite #1Santa Clarita, CA 91350, USAPhone: +1 (818) 344-8522

Contact us

Koristimo kolačiće da bi Vam pružili najbolje moguće iskustvo na našoj web stranici i stvorili ciljano oglašavanje.

Prihvatite samo potrebne kolačiće. Pročitajte više o našoj upotrebi kolačića.