不孕與癌症,了解您的生育力保存治療選項。
今天就向我們致電 +1(818) 344-8522患者帳戶

癌症女性的生育力保存

 帶有問號圖案的寶寶老師嬰兒可通過筆記本電腦學習

本文旨在為醫療專業人員以及普通大眾宣傳生育力保存的知識。以下是值得探討的常見問題。

生育力保存是罹患癌症的女性所面臨的最重要問題之一,因為強化的癌症治療可能會導致早發性 卵巢衰竭。大多數處於生育年齡的女性都希望保留生育能力,但是可能會遇到兩個問題:1) 未能獲得有關生育力保存的充足信息,或2) 在適當時機未能得以諮詢生育專家。

任何的癌症治療都會導致育齡年輕女性不孕嗎?

儘管大多數化療藥物和離子輻射都對生殖腺有傷害,但它們的毒性嚴重程度各不相同。與烷化劑(如環磷酰胺或巴瑟芬)相比,某些藥物,例如多柔比星,5FU或甲氨蝶呤對卵巢的毒性相對較低。盆腔放療或全身放療(TBI)對卵巢的輻射損傷可能會導致大量卵泡喪失。此外,接受超過15Gy全身放療的10歲以上患者,幾乎都將發展為早發性卵巢衰竭。

癌症診斷時的年齡對治療後的生育能力有影響嗎?

年齡是癌症患者預後考慮懷孕時最重要的因素之一。在30歲以下的女性中,癌症治療後保持生育能力的機會比30歲以上的女性高很多。隨著年齡增長,卵子數量逐漸減少,特別是35歲後的卵巢儲備將顯著減少。癌症治療對卵巢的傷害可能會進一步減少卵巢儲備。

育齡女性被診斷為癌症的情況常見嗎?

在美國,有4%至5%(每年55,000人)35歲以下的女性被診斷為癌症患者。有5%至7%(每年11,000人)的年齡在40歲以下的女性被診斷為侵襲性乳腺癌。此外,還有大約450,000名處於生育年齡的癌症患者。
fertility_preservation_1

年輕癌症患者的癌症存活率是否有所提高?

如果在早期階段診斷出來,許多類型的癌症都是可以治愈的。由於癌症治療技術的進步,生存率在過去20年中有所增加。在15至44歲的女性中,所有癌症的平均5年相對生存率超過83%。對於0至14歲的兒童,美國的平均5年相對生存率超過81%。兒童群體中霍奇金病的存活率超過95%。與其他年齡組相比,20至29歲的女性中長期相對生存率最高。

在進行癌症治療前,女性是否關注其生育能力?

癌症治療引起的不孕症可引發明顯的心理壓力,並直接影響癌症康復者的生活質量。在癌症診斷時還未生育的年輕女性中,至少有75%希望將來生孩子。被診斷患癌的青春期女孩則有80%對保存生育能力感興趣。此外,癌症康復者更希望擁有自己血緣關系的孩子。

大多數育齡女性在癌症治療前是否獲得充足的與生育力保存相關的信息?

在美國,並非所有的腫瘤學家遵循來自美國臨床腫瘤學會(ASCO)針對患者的生育指南,指南建議腫瘤學家與育齡患者討論生育問題,並根據需要將其轉介給生育專家和心理諮詢師。此外,超過一半的年輕女性並未從醫生那裡獲得充足的生育信息,或在需要時被轉介給生育專家。
fertility_preservation_2

對於希望在癌症治療前保存生育能力的患者來說,有哪些嚴重的阻礙?

1) 未能被及時轉介給生育專家:診斷為癌症的女性應該有機會被轉介到生育專家來保存其生育能力。醫療提供者不完整或不正確的生育知識可能會阻礙患者被及時轉介,尤其是對方需要盡快治療的情況下。2) 昂貴的治療:大多數用於保存生育能力的治療不被健康保險覆蓋(儘管包括加州在內的一些州通過了法案,要求保險覆蓋癌症患者的生育力保存治療)。這可能是一個挑戰,尤其是在癌症治療需要立即開始的情況下。此外,這些治療不能保證患者能夠用恢復生育能力。

目前可用的生育力保存的醫療選擇有哪些?

請參考以下選擇:
  • 促性腺激素釋放激素激動劑 (GnRHa)
  • 卵巢固定術(用於骨盆放射治療)
  • 控制卵巢刺激 (COS) 並冷凍保存成熟卵子或胚胎
  • 體外培育成熟後冷凍保存成熟卵子
  • 卵巢組織的冷凍保存

誰是使用促性腺激素釋放激素激動劑 (GnRHa)做激素保護同步治療的理想候選人?

雖然許多試驗顯示促性腺激素釋放激素激動劑(GnRHa)可以保護卵巢功能免受化療引發的生殖損傷,但這些已發表的研究結果既不一致也無法令人信服,主要是由於不夠理想的研究設計和的樣本的不足。因患者狀況或時間因素而沒有其他選擇時,考慮使用GnRHa同步治療可能是合理的。千萬要注意,GnRHa不保護卵巢免受放射線引發的生育損害。
fertility_preservation_3

當與接受GnRHa治療的病人進行諮詢時,應考慮什麼?

因為GnRHa治療的效果仍存有爭議,因此重要的是要告知病人其副作用,包括骨質疏鬆和各種更年期症狀。GnRHa治療應在化療之前或化療時開始,並持續到化療結束後,以達到最好的保護效果。

生育力保存選項中是否有任何已經通過臨床驗證的治療技術?

目前,胚胎和成熟卵母細胞的冷凍保存被認為是癌症患者生育力保存的確立技術。胚胎冷凍保存技術已展示了約30年的積極成果。目前35歲以下婦女每次移植後的活產率約為50%。在過去10年間,卵子冷凍保存的成功率已顯著提高。目前從一系列冷凍卵子獲得的活產率與冷凍胚胎移植周期中的活產率相當,尤其是那些經過玻璃化(一種需要高濃度冷凍保護劑和極高冷卻速率的冷凍方法)處理的卵子。因此,卵子冷凍保存不再被視為實驗性技術。

胚胎冷凍保存是否適用於所有患癌女性?

由於胚胎冷凍保存的過程需要兩到五週,因此可能不適用於需要立即進行癌症治療的患者。此外,這個過程對於沒有伴侶的患者或不想使用捐贈精子的患者來說並不實際。再者,促性腺激素(卵巢控制性刺激的主要藥物)會增加高峰期雌二醇水平,這可能是一大禁忌,尤其是對於患有乳腺癌的患者,特別是那些雌激素受體陽性的患者。

胚胎冷凍保存的過程是怎樣的?

胚胎冷凍保存包括以下步驟:1) 進行IVF治療,包括使用促性腺激素進行卵巢控制性刺激,此過程持續10到14天2) 在卵巢刺激期間使用超聲波和血液檢測監測卵泡的生長3) 在注射hCG後約36小時取卵4) 使用IVF或單胞漿精子注射將卵子與精子進行受精。
fertility_preservation_4

使用促性腺激素刺激卵巢來為乳腺癌患者獲得胚胎的方式安全嗎?

使用促性腺激素進行卵巢控制性刺激最有可能另血清雌二醇水平過高。這對乳腺癌患者構成了風險,因為高水平的雌激素可以刺激癌細胞增殖。為了將暴露於高雌激素的風險降到最低,建議使用tamoxifen或letrozole代替促性腺激素,然而其使用並不能產生足夠數量的卵泡進行胚胎冷凍保存。另一個建議是使用一種修改後的方案,該方案包括低劑量的促性腺激素與tamoxifen或letrozole的組合。儘管這一方案的安全性和有效性仍在進一步研究中,但取得的卵子數量、受精率和血清雌二醇水平都是令人滿意的。

卵子冷凍保存的適應症是什麼?

卵子冷凍保存是一種寶貴且實用的生育力保存策略,不受婚姻狀態的限制。它尤其適合沒有伴侶且不想使用捐精的女性。對於不想存儲胚胎的女性,這也是一個合適的選擇。該治療過程需要經過卵巢控制性刺激和取卵 - 這也是進行胚胎冷凍保存所需的過程。然而,卵子冷凍保存不需要進行體外受精,可以避免道德和宗教問題的限制。

卵子冷凍保存的成功率是否和胚胎冷凍保存一樣?

據文獻統計,到目前為止,通過卵子冷凍保存技術,全球已經出生超過2,000名健康的嬰兒。雖然人類的卵子可以使用慢速冷凍方法進行冷凍保存,但使用玻璃化方法進行冷凍保存更為成功。使用玻璃化冷凍技術的卵子的胚胎活產率與冷凍胚胎移植周期中的活產率相當。

未成熟卵子可以被冷凍保存嗎?

截止目前為止,未成熟卵子(GV階段卵子)在冷凍保存後存活率不高,因此,將GV階段卵子進行體外培育(IVM)至成熟卵子(MII階段),然後進行成熟卵子的玻璃化冷凍保存似乎更為有效(儘管仍處於實驗階段)。在不使用控制性卵巢刺激(COS)的情況下取出未成熟卵子的優點包括不延遲癌症治療和不增加血清激素水平(對荷爾蒙依賴性癌症安全)。
fertility_preservation_4

誰可以提供卵巢組織的冷凍保存?

卵巢組織冷凍保存是唯一的選擇的情況包括:1) 尚未進入青春期的女孩 2) 無法延遲癌症治療的患者,或3) 不願接受卵巢控制性刺激的患者。患者的年齡是非常重要的,因為恢復卵巢功能和生育能力的機會與卵巢組織中的卵泡數量密切相關(該數量會隨著年齡的增加而減少)。一般來說,如果患者年齡超過38歲,建議不要冷凍保存卵巢組織。

與胚胎或卵子冷凍保存相比,卵巢組織冷凍保存的主要優勢是什麼?

卵巢組織冷凍保存的主要優勢如下:1) 它可以永久存儲大量的未成熟卵子以供將來使用2) 卵巢組織移植後可以恢復生育能力以及內分泌功能3) 它不會延遲癌症治療4) 它不會增加血清激素水平。

卵巢組織的冷凍保存有哪些缺點?

由於這是一項侵入性的手術,可能會出現手術併發症。卵巢組織通常是通過腹腔鏡手術取出的。當病人準備生孩子時,她可能需要進行另一次手術,將冷凍後的卵巢組織再移植回體內。

卵巢組織如何採集和處理?

卵巢組織可以在全身麻醉下使用腹腔鏡手術進行採集。手術大約需要一小時完成。通常術後兩到七天即可恢復癌症治療。在冷凍保存之前,採集的卵巢組織將被加工成薄薄的卵巢皮質組織片段 。

癌症患者存儲的卵巢組織是否能夠安全移植?

雖然少見,但卵巢組織可能潛藏癌細胞,特別是在血液類惡性腫瘤的病例中,例如白血病。了解和識別可能引入癌細胞的風險對於卵巢組織移植的安全性至關重要。迄今為止,已有幾百例卵巢移植成功的治療,沒有癌細胞重新被引入的病例紀錄。這些案例包括患有各種癌症的女性,例如乳腺癌、宮頸癌、霍奇金淋巴瘤、非霍奇金淋巴瘤和尤因肉瘤。儘管如此,直到在卵巢組織中研發出可靠的篩檢方法來檢測最小殘留病灶細胞之前,這一技術的安全性仍然存在疑慮。.

多少嬰兒出生於移植經過冷凍和解凍的卵巢組織?

儘管有爭議,但移植經過冷凍和解凍的卵巢組織已被證明可以恢復人類的生育能力。截至2022年,這項技術已經使全球超過200名健康嬰兒出生。儘管已取得這些成就,這項技術的臨床效果仍在進一步研究中。

總結一下被診斷出患有癌症的年輕女性保持生育能力的重要信息。

包括:1) 大多數育齡女性希望保持生育能力,以便將來成立家庭 2) 在為患者諮詢時提出生育問題很重要,最好是在癌症診斷後立即做出考量3) 通常,癌症診斷和治療之間的時間並不多。如果希望保持生育能力,建議在診斷出癌症後立即將患者轉介給生育專家4) 應根據每個患者的個案給出保持生育力的策略,並考慮到診斷、治療、年齡、婚姻狀況等因素。
S. Samuel Kim, 醫學博士, FACOG

參考文獻

1. National Cancer Institute. Surveillance epidemiology and end results: cancer statistics fact sheet. SEER Web site. http://www.seer.cancer.gov/statfacts. Accessed August 11, 2011.2. Murk W, Seli E. Fertility preservation as a public health issue: an epidemiological perspective. Curr Opin Obstet Gynecol. 2011;23(3):143-150.3. Partridge AH, Gelber S, Peppercorn J, et al. Web-based survey of fertility issues in young women with breast cancer. J Clin Oncol. 2004;22(6):4174-4183.4. Lee SJ, Schover LR, Patridge AH, et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology recommendations on fertility preservation in cancer patients. J Clin Oncol. 2006;24(3):2917-2931.5. Quinn GP, Vadaparampil ST. Fertility Preservation Group. Fertility preservation and adolescent/young adult cancer patients: physician communication challenges. J Adolesc Health. 2009;44(11):394-400.6. Kim SS. Fertility preservation in female cancer patients: current developments and future directions. Fertil Steril. 2006;85(4):1-11.7. Kim SS, Lee JR, Jee NC, et al. Use of hormonal protection for chemotherapy-induced gonadotoxicity. Clin Obstet Gynecol. 2010;53(6):740-752.8. Kim SS, Klemp J, Fabian C. Breast cancer and fertility preservation. Fertil Steril. 2011;95(3):1535-1543.9. Noyes N, Porcu E, Borini A. Over 900 oocyte cryopreservation babies born with no apparent increase in congenital anomalies. Reprod Biomed Online. 2009;18(4):776-796.
回到常見問題 >
leaf我們的地址leaf

San Fernando Valley

18370 Burbank Blvd. Suite 511Tarzana, CA 91356, USA電話: +1 (818) 344-8522

Los Angeles

5455 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1904Los Angeles, CA 90036, USA電話: +1 (323) 525-3377

Canyon Country (施工中)

26615 Bouquet Canyon Rd Suite #1Santa Clarita, CA 91350, USA電話: +1 (818) 344-8522

聯繫我們

Infertility and cancer, know your fertility preservation options
Call us today: +1(818) 344-8522Patient Portal

Fertility Preservation in Women with Cancer

Baby teacher with question mark graphicBaby learning from laptop

This article is intended to propagate knowledge and awareness of fertility preservation for healthcare professionals, as well as the general public. Below are common FAQs that are worth exploring.

Fertility preservation is one of the most important issues in women diagnosed with cancer, as aggressive cancer treatment can cause premature ovarian failure. Most women of reproductive age wish to preserve fertility, but either:1) fail to receive adequate information about fertility preservation or2) fail to be referred to fertility specialists when appropriate.

Will any cancer treatment result in infertility in young women of reproductive age?

Although most chemotherapeutic agents and ionized radiation are gonadotoxic, the severity of toxicity varies. For example, some agents, such as doxorubicin, 5FU or methotrexate are less toxic to the human ovary compared to alkylating agents, such as cyclophosphamide or busulfan. Radiation damage to the ovary with pelvic irradiation or total body irradiation (TBI) can cause a significant loss of follicles. In addition, almost all patients older than age 10 receiving over 15Gy of TBI will develop premature ovarian failure.

Does age at the time of cancer diagnosis impact fertility after cancer treatment?

Age is one of the most important prognostic factors in those with cancer who wish to conceive. The chance of maintaining fertility after cancer therapy is much higher in women under age 30 compared with those over age 30. The number of oocytes in the ovaries gradually declines with age, while the ovarian reserve decreases significantly after age 35. Insult to the ovary with cancer treatment can further reduce the ovarian reserve.

How common is cancer diagnosis in women of reproductive age?

In the United States, 4 percent to 5 percent (55,000/year) of newly diagnosed cancer patients are under age 35. Five percent to 7 percent (11,000/year) of patients diagnosed with invasive breast cancer are under age 40. In addition, there are approximately 450,000 cancer survivors who are of reproductive age.
fertility_preservation_1

Have cancer survival rates improved in young cancer patients?

Many types of cancer are curable if detected in the early stages. Survival rates have increased over the past 20 years thanks to advances in cancer treatment. The 5-year relative survival rate for all cancers combined is more than 83 percent in women aged 15 to 44. For children aged 0 to 14, the overall 5-year relative survival rate is more than 81 percent in the United States. The survival rate for Hodgkin’s disease in the pediatric population is more than 95 percent. Long-term relative survival rates are greatest among women aged 20 to 29 years when compared to other age groups.

Before undergoing cancer treatment, are women concerned with fertility?

Infertility due to cancer therapy can cause significant psychological stress and directly influence the quality of life of cancer survivors. At least 75 percent of young women, without children at the time of cancer diagnosis, desire to have children in the future. Among adolescent girls diagnosed with cancer, 80 percent of them are interested in fertility preservation. In addition, cancer survivors prefer to have their own biological children.

Do most women of reproductive age receive adequate information about fertility preservation before cancer treatment?

Not all of the oncologists in the United States are following fertility guidelines pertaining to patient recommendations from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). These guidelines recommend oncologists to discuss fertility issues with patients of childbearing age and make referrals to reproductive specialists and psychosocial providers as appropriate. In addition, more than half of young women are not being given adequate fertility information by their physicians or referred to fertility specialists when needed.
fertility_preservation_2

What are significant barriers for fertility preservation?

For patients who desire fertility preservation before cancer treatment, there are two main barriers:1) Lack of referral to fertility specialists in a timely manner: Women diagnosed with cancer should be given an opportunity to preserve their fertility via referrals to fertility specialists. Incomplete or incorrect provider knowledge about fertility preservation may hinder timely referrals—especially in cases where treatment should be immediate.2) Expensive treatment: Most procedures for fertility preservation are not covered by healthinsurance (although some states including California passed a bill to mandate insurance coverage of fertiity preservation in cancer patietns). This can be a challenge—especially in cases where cancer treatment should be initiated immediately. In addition, restoration of fertility cannot be guaranteed.

What are the currently available options for fertility preservation?

They are the following:
  • Gonadotropin-releasing hormone agonists (GnRHa)
  • Oophoropexy (for pelvic irradiation)
  • Controlled ovarian stimulation (COS) with cryopreservation of mature oocytes or embryos
  • In vitro maturation followed by cryopreservation of mature oocytes
  • Cryopreservation of ovarian tissue

Who are ideal candidates for hormonal protection with GnRHa co-treatment?

Although numerous trials show GnRHa to protect ovarian function from chemotherapyinduced gonadotoxicity, results from these published studies are neither consistent nor convincing, mainly due to suboptimal study designs and inadequate sample sizes. It may be reasonable to consider GnRHa co-treatment when there are no other options due to patient conditions/time factors. It is important to note that GnRHa does not protect the ovary from radiation-induced gonadotoxicity.
fertility_preservation_3

What is considered when counseling patients undergoing GnRHa treatment?

Because efficacy of GnRHa treatment remains controversial, it is important to inform patients of the side effects including osteoporosis and various menopausal symptoms. GnRHa treatment should start before chemotherapy, or at the time of chemotherapy, and continue until after the end of chemotherapy to maximize the protective effects.

Are there any clinically established technologies among fertility preservation strategies?

Currently, embryo and mature oocyte cryopreservation are considered to be established technologies for fertility preservation in cancer patients. Embryo cryopreservation has shown positive results for approximately 30 years. The current live birth rate per transfer is around 50 percent in women younger than 35 years of age. The success rates with oocyte cryopreservation have significantly improved since past 10 years. Current live birth rates from a series of cryopreserved oocytes are comparable to those in cryopreserved embryo transfer cycles—especially if those cryopreserved oocytes have undergone vitrification (a freezing method that requires a high concentration of cryoprotectants along with an extremely high cooling rate). Thus, oocyte cryopreservation is no longer categorized as an investigational technology.

Is embryo cryopreservation applicable to all women with cancer?

As the process of embryo cryopreservation takes two to five weeks, it may not be applicable to patients who require immediate cancer treatment. In addition, this process is not practical for patients without partners or who do not want to use donor sperm. Furthermore, gonadotropins (the main agent for COS) increase peak estradiol levels, which may be contraindicated in patients with breast cancer—especially those with ER+ status.

What is the process of embryo cryopreservation?

Patients need to undergo the following:1) IVF procedure that includes COS with gonadotropins for 10 to 14 days2) Monitoring of follicular growth with ultrasound and blood tests during COS3) Oocyte retrieval about 36 hours after hCG administration4) Fertilization of retrieved oocytes with sperm using IVF or intracytoplasmic sperm injection
fertility_preservation_4

Is it safe to use gonadotropins to stimulate the ovaries for embryo preservation in breast cancer patients?

COS with gonadotropins most likely increases serum estradiol levels to supra-physiologic amounts. This poses a concern to breast cancer patients as high levels of estrogen can stimulate cancer cell proliferation. To minimize the risk of exposure to high estrogen amounts, the use of tamoxifen or letrozole instead of gonadotropins has been suggested, although their use does not generate sufficient numbers of follicles for embryo cryopreservation. Another recommendation is to use a modified protocol that comprises low-dose gonadotropin in combination with tamoxifen or letrozole. Although the safety and efficacy of this protocol is being further studied, results are satisfactory regarding the number of retrieved oocytes, fertilization rates and serum estradiol levels.

What are the indications for oocyte cryopreservation?

Oocyte cryopreservation is a valuable and practical strategy for fertility preservation regardless of the marital status. Especially, it is ideal for women who do not have a partner and do not want to use donor sperm. It also can be a suitable option for women who do not want to create embryos for storage. This procedure requires COS and egg retrieval— the same process required for embryo cryopreservation. Oocyte cryopreservation, however, does not require IVF, and can avoid ethical and religious issues.

Is oocyte cryopreservation as successful as embryo cryopreservation?

According to the literature, more than 2,000 healthy babies have been born worldwide through the process of oocyte cryopreservation. Although human oocytes can be cryopreserved using a slow freezing method,cryopreservation has been more successful using vitrification. Live birth rates per embryo transfer with embryos resulting from vitrified oocytes arecomparable to those in frozen-thawed embryo transfer cycles.

Can immature oocytes be cryopreserved ?

To date, immature oocytes (GV stage oocytes) do not survive well after cryopreservation, therefore, in vitro maturation (IVM) of GV stage oocytes to mature (MII stage) oocytes followed by vitrification of mature oocytes appears to be more practical (although still experimental). The advantages of retrieving immature oocytes without COS include no delay of cancer treatment and no increase in serum hormone levels (safe for hormone dependent cancer).
fertility_preservation_4

To whom can ovarian tissue cryopreservation be offered?

Ovarian tissue cryopreservation is the only option for:1) pre-pubertal girls2) patients who cannot delay cancer treatment or3) patients who are unwilling to undergo COS.Patient age is crucial as the chances of restoration of ovarian function and fertility are closely correlated to the number of follicles in the ovarian tissue (which declines with age). In general, it is not recommended to cryopreserve ovarian tissue if the patient is older than age 38.

What are the main advantages of ovarian tissue cryopreservation when compared to embryo or oocyte cryopreservation?

The main advantages of ovarian tissue cryopreservation are the following:1) It can permanently store abundant amounts of immature oocytes for future use2) It can restore fertility as well as endocrine function after ovarian tissue transplantation3) It does not delay cancer treatment4) It does not increase serum hormone levels

What are disadvantages of ovarian tissue cryopreservation?

Because this is an invasive procedure, surgical complications can occur. The ovary is usually harvested by laparoscopic surgery. When the patient is ready to have a child, she may need another surgery to transplant frozen-thawed ovarian tissue back to her own body.

How is ovarian tissue harvested and processed?

The ovary can be harvested using laparoscopic surgery under general anesthesia. It takes approximately one hour to complete surgery. Most times, cancer therapy can be resumed two to seven days after surgery. The harvested ovary is processed into thin sections of ovarian cortical tissue before cryopreservation.

Is it safe to transplant stored ovarian tissue from cancer patients?

Although rare, ovarian tissue can harbor cancer cells-especially in cases of hematologic malignancy, such as leukemia. Awareness and recognition of the risks of reintroduction of cancer cells are crucial for the safety of ovarian tissue transplantation. To date, hundreds of cases of ovarian transplantation have been successfully performed in women with no documented cases of cancer cell reintroduction. Cases include women with various cancers, such as breast cancer, cervical cancer, Hodgkin’s lymphoma, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and Ewing sarcoma. Despite these results, safety concerns for this procedure will remain until reliable screening methods to detect minimal residual disease in ovarian tissue are developed.

How many babies have been born after transplanting frozen-thawed ovarian tissue?

Although controversial, transplantation of frozen-thawed ovarian tissue has been shown to restore fertility in humans. As of 2022, this technology has been responsible for more than 200 healthy live births worldwide. Despite these results, the clinical efficacy of this technology is being further investigated.

To summarize, what are the main points of fertility preservation in young women diagnosed with cancer?

They are as follows:1) Most women of reproductive age desire to preserve fertility in order to have a family in the future2) It is important to address fertility issues when counseling the patient, preferably immediately after cancer diagnosis3) In general, there is not much time between the time of cancer diagnosis and treatment. If fertility preservation is desired, it is recommended to refer the patient to a fertility specialist once a cancer diagnosis is made (without delay)4) Strategies for fertility preservation should be carried out based on each individual patient case, taking into account diagnosis, treatment, age, marital status, etc.
S. Samuel Kim, MD, FACOG

References:

1. National Cancer Institute. Surveillance epidemiology and end results: cancer statistics fact sheet. SEER Web site. http://www.seer.cancer.gov/statfacts. Accessed August 11, 2011.2. Murk W, Seli E. Fertility preservation as a public health issue: an epidemiological perspective. Curr Opin Obstet Gynecol. 2011;23(3):143-150.3. Partridge AH, Gelber S, Peppercorn J, et al. Web-based survey of fertility issues in young women with breast cancer. J Clin Oncol. 2004;22(6):4174-4183.4. Lee SJ, Schover LR, Patridge AH, et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology recommendations on fertility preservation in cancer patients. J Clin Oncol. 2006;24(3):2917-2931.5. Quinn GP, Vadaparampil ST. Fertility Preservation Group. Fertility preservation and adolescent/young adult cancer patients: physician communication challenges. J Adolesc Health. 2009;44(11):394-400.6. Kim SS. Fertility preservation in female cancer patients: current developments and future directions. Fertil Steril. 2006;85(4):1-11.7. Kim SS, Lee JR, Jee NC, et al. Use of hormonal protection for chemotherapy-induced gonadotoxicity. Clin Obstet Gynecol. 2010;53(6):740-752.8. Kim SS, Klemp J, Fabian C. Breast cancer and fertility preservation. Fertil Steril. 2011;95(3):1535-1543.9. Noyes N, Porcu E, Borini A. Over 900 oocyte cryopreservation babies born with no apparent increase in congenital anomalies. Reprod Biomed Online. 2009;18(4):776-796.
Back to FAQ >
leafOur Locationsleaf

San Fernando Valley

18370 Burbank Blvd. Suite 511Tarzana, CA 91356, USAPhone: +1 (818) 344-8522

Los Angeles

5455 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1904Los Angeles, CA 90036, USAPhone: +1 (323) 525-3377

Canyon Country (under construction)

26615 Bouquet Canyon Rd Suite #1Santa Clarita, CA 91350, USAPhone: +1 (818) 344-8522

Contact us